Cogito

Can you spot the sure winner by Eric Mankin.

Posted in Uncategorized by qmarks on December 5, 2010

This post is a summary of Eric Mankin’s article “can you spot the sure winner” which analyses the viabilitiy of an investment in product invention. The main rationale behind of the article is from Clayton Christensen, who says when a customer buys a product it really hires to get something done. If your product does it better than any other products in the market you can be sure that customers will buy it. -Now my question is coke. What does it better than the current players in the market so that I buy it. I guess the taste, cold feeling, and the gas. That’s how I define the coke, and why I prefer it to a cold water or beer. But also when I am hanging out with my friends I prefer beer to coke because in that environment that performs better. What it serves? Well it just makes you talk more and laughter on easy things. The having fun part. That’s why beer is preferred in an ambiance where coke looks like lame. Let me tell you a joke at this point.

After the Great Britain Beer Festival, in London, all the brewery presidents decided to go out for a beer.
The guy from Corona sits down and says, “Hey Senor, I would like the world’s best beer, a Corona.” The bartender dusts off a bottle from the shelf and gives it to him.
The guy from Budweiser says, “I’d like the best beer in the world, give me ‘The King Of Beers’, a Budweiser.” The bartender gives him one.
The guy from Coors says, “I’d like the only beer made with Rocky Mountain spring water, give me a Coors.” He gets it.
The guy from Guinness sits down and says, “Give me a Coke.” The bartender is a little taken aback, but gives him what he ordered.
The other brewery presidents look over at him and ask “Why aren’t you drinking a Guinness?” and the Guinness president replies, “Well, I figured if you guys aren’t drinking beer, neither would I.”

Turning back to the article, Mr. Mankin defines four areas where the satisfaction of customer will lead to a sure buy. But shortly if you want the customer to buy your product

1. It should be better in terms of features

2. It should be cheaper in terms of price

3. It should be easy to use, simple design

4. It should be readily available. Customer should buy it anytime anywhere s/he wants.

Leave a Reply

