Recognition of Investment Securities

Posted in CFA by qmarks on April 19, 2010

Marketable investment securities are classified under three categories, Trading, Available for Sale and Held-to-Maturity. Profits and (losses) incurred are recognized differently depending on its classification. Briefly they are recognized as:

Trading Available for Sale Held to Maturity
Balance Sheet Fair Value Fair Value Amortized Cost
Income Statement Dividends
Realized gains/losses
Unrealized gains and losses
Realized gains/losses
Realized Gains and losses
Comprehensive Income Unrealized Gains and Losses

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: